California | Construction Law
Legal Question
At the end of my remodel my contractor submitted a bill for many charges that I was unaware of. He said they were not included in the original contract and I was responsible for them since the work was already done. I felt threatened by his verbal behavior and signed and paid the extra fees. He asked me to date the contract with a date 6 weeks earlier, which I refused to do and wrote the actual date I signed. After three months of hounding him for my copies of the contract I saw he changed the date I wrote on the contract to an earlier date. Are there any legal ramifications to changing the date of a signed contract?


