California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
6/21/05, 6:05 pm

Legal Question


My father got a cross complait summons

My father was a tile setter for 30+ years. He's 82 & retired. A few years ago he did a marble job and he's now being sued by the contractor who hired him. He's never had a liability licnece, contractor's licence, and does one or two jobs a year since he's retired. My father stopped taking his calls to work for him becuase the contractor would always pay late. Now this contractor is being sued by the couple who had construction done to their home They are suing him for Breach of Contract for $200K. In return he's cross-suing a total of 6 people; including my father. My father doesn't speak well english. They are claiming that the marble floor in kitchen was cracked due to a slip sheet. My father says he doesn't understand why he should be sued if the inspector approved his work. Should he respond to this law suit? It says in the summons that he denied any alleged damaged if he's found liable it would be derived only through the fault of each cross-defendant by that reason thereof each cross-defendant herien owes and by that reason thereof each cross-defendant owes a duty to fully indemnify and hold cross-complainant from any judgment,damages,cost,expenses and attorney's fees. What does all of this mean?Can these lawsuit be dropped?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search