California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
11/09/09, 3:33 pm

Legal Question


I filed an a mechanic's lien over a property 60 days ago for over $ 2,200.00, owners they say that they don't have money, what is the next step to get paid? perfect the lien and/or lawsuit, how to get paid and where to it done the paperwork at court. thanks.


question bubble
11/14/09, 3:41 pm

Legal Answer


Go to your local courthouse and get the papers to file in small claims court. You may be able to get them on the internet.

Raymond Chandler

Law Office of Raymond Chandler 15 W. Carrillo St., Suite 211 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/14/09, 3:55 pm

Legal Answer


You can't enforce a mechanic's lien in small claims court. You have to file a regular lawsuit to enforce the lien, in the county Superior Court for the county where the property is located. You should also bear in mind that you only have 90 days after recording a mechanics lien to file the lawsuit to enforce it.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search