California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
8/28/03, 11:13 pm

Legal Question


Lien placed on my property

I hired a contractor to do some remolding to my home, he then hired a contractor to help him out, and to my knowledge this wasnt the first time they worked together. Apparently they now have a dissagreement over wages and the contractors helper put a lien on my house for 400.00 in unpaid wages. I was warned in advance that this might happen by the contractor I hired and he stated he has made several attempts to pay him to avoid all this but the guy refuses the money and insisted on taking action. To make matters worse I found out hes an Unlicensed Contractor and still contracting. Should I report him to the BBB or State License Board or will that do any good at all? Any Advice would be appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search