California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
10/22/07, 12:12 pm

Legal Question


Lien Release - Primary Contractor

My contractor was unable to finish

our job for the contract amount. He

took payments for jobs that were not

completed. He acknowledges not

having finished. He placed a lien of

$83,250 on our property for

''overages'', yet he had no change

orders and we have not seen a bill

for his lien amount. He is also

holding tile that was purchased for

our job. We had to purchase a bond

for $124,875 to remove his lien in

order to refinance, which we had

great difficulty doing. He filed suit to

foreclose on the lien and we now

have attorney's fees. If his is a

fraudulent lien, what is our

recourse?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search