California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Lien Rights without 20 day notice
Prime Contractor Has not finished paying.Verbal Time and materials agreement that he paid every invoice on until the last 2 . Job is finished no dispute that we did the work. He says that because there is a construction loan and we have maxed out the the line items that were budgeted for this paticular portion of the project that he cannot pay till later. I did not file a 20 day notice but I met with the prime and the owner several times and saw and talked to the owner over the entire time and the owner threw a BBQ for us at the end of our part of the project. Because he had actual knowledge of our work is there an exception to the 20 day notice? Please any advice would help I only have one week till the 90 days from completion of work is up


