California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
1/01/11, 2:20 pm

Legal Question


I live in lynwood, ca (90262) and recently we had a plumbing problem that prompted the city to come and ask us for the plumbing permit. It was a rainy weekend and we didn't know we needed a permit to work on our plumbing in our back yard. Do we? Also, they noticed as though there was construction going on so they asked to see our home. My sister in law recently moved in with us due to financial issues so we sealed up our second bathroom door (which was the only entrance that led to the back rooms-an addition the previously owner started and we finished with permits!) and are letting her and her kids stay. They didn't go in to see but want to know if there is a second kitchen there.

The previous owner left plumbing, so we did make a sink and put cabinets for them and they have a microwave and a refrigerator. What rights do we have? The inspectors will be coming tomorrow and I need to know what it is that I have to do to make things right (if I've actually wronged anything). Once again, the only thing that we changed were, 1.) added a small, door size wall, to add to their privacy and 2.) added a sink. Please help!!! I don't want to be in violation of anything.

Thank you!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search