California | Construction Law
12/28/08, 5:04 pm
Legal Question
Mechanics Lien
How do I get a lien expunged that was not enforced in California?
Mechanics Lien
How do I get a lien expunged that was not enforced in California?
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Mechanics Lien Mechanics' liens expire after 90 days from recording of the original claim or any extension of credit duly recorded, and if not prosecuted, there is no need to expunge them. However, there is a process (described at Civil Code section 3154) to obtain a judicial release of lien upon petition to the court. Some authorities think going after such a release is a waste of time and money since title companies, etc. know mechanic's liens are void after a short time, but CC 3154 does have a limited attorney-fee provision so that a prevailing party can get at least partial reimbursement of its costs to file or defend such a petition. |
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
Re: Mechanics Lien You may file under the civil code. However, it may have expired on its own. Contact me directly. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► What do I do I worked for a company for almost two months the only checks I received...
► Hired help in calif If i hire a handy man ( out of yellow pages ) to do a $ 400...
► Business how long after the fact can you bill a client for services performed
► Contractor abandonment I have contracted with a company from Arizona to build a...
► Construction defect i was working for a general contractor doing slabs. an was asked...
► Contractor Liability Insurance My contractor started building our home in Dec 2005....
► Inappropriate use of construction funds I found out, and believe I can prove it,...
More Construction Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press