California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
3/18/10, 1:10 pm

Legal Question


Hello,

In mid February I had a window company come to my home and give me an estimate for retro-fit windows for my entire home. I signed a contract agreement and was told that I had three days to cancel it. On the third day I signed the cancellation form, dated it, and dropped it in the mail. I received several calls from the owner of the company shortly after and I politely told him that I was no longer going to get the windows and that I had mailed the cancellation form.

Today I received an e-mail from the company demanding 1/2 of the payment. They said that the postmark on the envelope was was two days late. The company never took the final measurements for the windows nor did they order any materials or do any work on my home. Can the company file a Mechanic's Lien on my home? Is there anything they can really do other than cancel the transaction?

Thank you for your time,

Nick


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search