California | Construction Law
First original contract is passed the deadline
so a
new agreement made via e-mail which is now also passed deadline.
because contractor close to finishing with home remodeling, Owner and Contractor verbally agree to continue and finish the remodeling with no new due date mention.
One day before the project was to be now fully completed Owner decides to change door locks(I had the keys to the previous locks) and picks up a day laborer from home depot to finish the remaining work(about a full days work).
Owner Says I had done damages to which he now has to pay someone else to fix and will be deducted from my total price. and All my work was done bad to which he inspected and approve off throughout the project.
* Contract unequal was more in favor/protecting him and with more consequences obligations to me
* the owner(realtor/developer) wrote the contract and said to just signed it seems a lot of work but there’s parts in the contract that doesn’t pertain to me or my duties and he will rewrite it later which he never did) because he was running late pressure me to sign it.
* 1st2ndcontract passed deadline because materials missing and little time for scale of the project.
I was paid $0
2011 Started on may 26 -ended(changing locks) july 15


