California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
11/19/09, 6:12 pm

Legal Question


If you are a piece rate employer in California (Construction subcontractor) are you required to carry workers' comp insurance? You have no employees on hourly wage- employees are only paid according to the # of pieces they install in a day.

If no worker's comp is necessary then is it required that the piece rate workers carry their own insurance and contractor's license #? Can you (the employer) carry the contractor's license if all of your workers' are independent 1099 contractors?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search