California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
1/02/11, 3:54 pm

Legal Question


I have a question, I "hired" a friend to paint the inside of a house that I was supposed to b moving in on Jan. 1st 2011. He led me to believe he worked for a licensed contractor but have still yet to see any proof of it. He quoted me $350 for the prepping, taping off and spraying the paint. He then advised it would take 3 days. Well now a week later it's only prepped and he keeps giving me excuses why he hasn't finished but three times he tells me he'll be there in the morning so I assume he's there working on the house so later in the evening I contact him and ask him the status and he tells me he never went. This has happened 3 times now. So today we decided to take it upon ourselves and rent a sprayer and spray it ourselves because we are paying rent, gas and electric at a house we can't even move in to because of his "personal" problems. I advised him I'd pay him for the prep work he had done but he's asking for $220 just for the prep work when the entire job would only had been $350. I want to do the ethical thing and pay him for what he's done but I feel what he's asking is excessive. So what should I do? He himself isn't liscensed as far as I'm aware of. We had no written contract we did have a verbal one but I feel like he violated the verbal contract but not getting it done within the time he stated it'd b done. I hope I provided enough info. I'm not trying to not pay him for the work but I don't know what is reasonable when I don't feel he's being reasonable with the amount he's asking for not even finishing the job. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search