California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/16/04, 2:32 pm

Legal Question


stop notice statute of 1999

I am having a dispute on a contract for building a new residence. The contract was a fixed cost-i.e. it states that the contractor will build the house for a specified amount of money. He insists it is a cost plus and now put a lien on my property for $36,000.00 because of lumber costing more than he expected or estimated. He is now threatening to place a stop notice on the loan. I was under the impression that a stop notice can only be done legally if there is NO dispute as to the contractor's performance. There is a big dispute over his performance as he poured the slab foundation without inspection and then retrofitted it and caused more damage so that the rough plumbing has to me ripped out and redone. He did not tell me before hand that the lumber cost was higher, but he did say that it was 90% his fault for not bidding the lumber out properly. His management of the project was very bad as there are numerous other large mistakes he has made that cannot be corrected now. Can you tell me what the 1999 statute says in regard to the rules under which a stop notice has to be done? I have since fired him and hired a new general contractor. He has been paid a sizeable amount of money already and I do not feel I owe him any more.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search