California | Construction Law
Legal Question
As an unemployed painter, I have been doing "pickup" work to make ends meet. I was hired by the owner of a yogurt shop to do interior painting. He was aware that I wasn't a contractor and in fact hired other non-contractors as well. I applied a base color coat to the floor so an artist could do art work on top of it. A clear top coat was added (not by me) and if failed. The owner thinks it was the base coat that caused the clear coat to fail and now won't pay for all the work I did. I contacted the paint store and their rep went to the site and determined the base coat had nothing to do with the failure. Because I don't have a contractors license could I take the owner to small claim's court or would my case be thrown out?


