Re: unfinished work
Sounds like the contractor has breached the contract. Here's what I suggest you do:
1. Review the contract carefully, looking for anything that refers to "breach" "default" "right to cure" "remedies" "time for performance" "time is of the essence" or the like. Look for anything that might modify the rights and responsibilities of the parties in this situation.
2. Check at the county recorder's office to make sure there are no preliminary lien notices or anything of that kind filed against your property and in favor of the contractor.
3. If this contractor was referred to you by the vendor of the material (e.g. Sears), confer with the vendor.
4. Give the contractor written notice that he is in breach and that you intend to "cure" by having another contractor complete the work. Set a deadline for his response.
5. The greater your threat of loss due to storm damage, reduced property value, etc., the less time you need to give him. I suggest 10 days.
6. Call or write the Contractors State License Board and give a brief statement of the facts. See if the contractor's license and bond are intact. You may have a claim against the bond, but since you haven't paid your risk of reimbursable financial loss is small.
7. After the time set in your notice to the defaulting contractor, have someone else finish the work. Be sure this second contractor understands the situation.
You are still liable to the original contractor; not for the contract price, but for the fair value of labor and materials actually performed and furnished. The fair value is reduced by what you have to spend for the "cure" and other losses incurred as a direct result of his breach.
You would be better off to get a written sign-off by the defaulting contractor, settling the amount owed for partial completion issue. This could avoid litigation or its threat in the future.
This contractor may be having personal problems such as drugs, alcohol, family or money difficulties. It happens a lot.