California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
1/16/04, 4:53 pm

Legal Question


unlicensed contractor

Neighbor is a construction superintendant, recently laid off. He just built an addition to his home. He offered to build one for me, but my concern is liability for injuries. He proposes to go to a friend who has a contractors license and insurance, write the contract under the friend's company's name (in exchange for giving the friend $1,000-) and do my $20,000- addition. My neighbor will do and subcontract the whole job, just using his friend's company and insurance to insure liability in case there is any slip and fall, etc, saying his friend's workman's comp policy would cover him in this case, as it is a general workman's comp policy. Would this work? If not, is there an alternative so I am not liable?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search