California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Binding Contract
My fiance and I entered into a contract with the Embassy Suites for our wedding reception. We were told that we all rates would be locked in when we signed the agreement, including room rates for our guests. Now the hotel is saying that they will not honor the room rate($99) that was agreed upon. The new rate is $106. In addition we must leave a credit card number to block off rooms. We were not informed of this policy. The Hampton which is across the street (owned by the same Corp.) does not require a credit card to block off rooms. They will not block off rooms unless we give them a credit card to hold the rooms. More than half the guests will be staying at the hotel (100 or more). We put down a non-refundable deposit ($2,000) and since we are about a month out are obligated to pay the full amount of $10,000. The hotel is not honoring the agreement. Do we have legal ground to receive a full refund of our deposit exit this contract?


