California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
4/04/02, 5:41 pm

Legal Question


Used car dealer misrepresentation

We recently purchased a used car ('97 Ford Escort) for my daughter from a local dealer. The car was presented to us as having air conditioning. I have the window sticker from the car that lists air conditioning as a feature. The car does not have A/C and when I told the dealer this he said that it was a mistake and all he could do for us was to allow us to trade the car for another car on his lot, but we would have to pay the sales tax on both cars. We would never have bought the car without air. Do we have any recourse at all, or are we stuck with two years of payments with no A/C?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search