California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
3/26/02, 5:46 pm

Legal Question


- Charging a Customer WITHOUT Consent? --

Hello,

I was wondering if there is a California consumer protection law regarding making charges without informing the customer. I have recently received an email bill for $480.00 out of the blue from a company called No Monthly Fees out of the blue. I was verbally informed that there could be a $50 fee if I were to exceed the 5GB limit on my web server, but that I would be informed. Suddenly my website was shut down, access to it restricted (so I cannot even back up my own copyrighted materials), and a bill for $480 was sent to me via email for past due bandwidth use (too many hits). Is there a limitation to how much they can charge me without informing me? They are claiming that this amount has stacked up over a period of several months, but I was never contacted regarding it... Is there ANYTHING I can do?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search