California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Contract Dispute
I have a breach if contract dispute with an attorney. Our contract had an arbitration clause stating that any dispute had to be submitted to binding arbitration through the American Arbitration Association and that the Laws of the State of California and the procedural rules of the AAA shall apply. Because the AAA consumer dispute resolution process includes provisions that require the business to accept a small claims court action in lieu of arbitration, I filed a small claims case. The attorney petitioned the court to dismiss the case and compel arbitration and the judge did so. I then filed the claim with the AAA. The AAA Administrator notified the attorney that the arbitration clause in our contract was in conflict the CCCP 1284.3(a) and required the attorney to sign a submissions agreeing to waive the offending provision. The attorney refused, and the AAA had to refuse to arbitrate the matter. The small claims case was originally dismissed without prejudice. Can I take the dispute back to small claims, or do I have to go through Superior Court and file a petition to compel the attorney to sign the submission and go to arbitration?


