California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
3/03/08, 12:50 pm

Legal Question


Contractor Took Money

We had a contract with a cabinet company to have our kitchen redone and paid close to $10,000, but had to postpone work for business and personal reasons several times. During this time, however, the cabinet people went out of business and did not contact us. Now we are left wondering what our options are for getting our deposit returned, if possible at all. What are our options? Who is liable here?


question bubble
3/07/08, 12:44 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Contractor Took Money

If the company has filed for Bankruptcy then you will need to file a claim with the bankruptcy court. However, there are deadlines in these situations so you need to act fast.

Feel free to contact my office if we can help

Good Luck!

LEGAL NOTICE: The information presented in this e-mail should not be

construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client

relationship.

Ryan P. McClure

The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure 8300 Utica Ave., Suite 157 Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search