California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
10/31/07, 3:44 pm

Legal Question


Ford won't release the lien without fee.

Since I'm from the UK I was unaware that when I paid off my new car five years ago Ford Credit was supposed to release the lien on my car and also notify the DMV. My wife noticed they still hold the lien when she looked at my registration doc recently. I called and asked them tu fulfill their responsibility and release the lien. They say because it is so long they'll have to charge me for this and that if I'd called within 90 days it would have been free. I never agreed to this. I've seen no statement of this fact and they say they cannot show this as a documented policy.

It's a small amount, $17, but this is a matter of principal. They're asking for more money to do something that they should have done years ago automatically and didn't do.

Do I bite the bullet or what?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search