California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
2/13/08, 4:07 pm

Legal Question


Legal action against dealership giving the run-around about repairs?

I purchased a used vehicle around August of 2007, with a one-year warranty on the car. Now that I try to make a claim for a repair, the warranty company says that they never received my warranty or my information. I've been calling the dealership (both offices) and been getting the run-around for about four weeks now. They keep saying they'll make calls and find out what's going on, meanwhile I need my car to get around. Can I take legal action against them and FORCE them to pay for my repairs? Or do I have to wait until they keep giving me the run-around until my so-called warranty expires?


question bubble
2/15/08, 1:48 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Legal action against dealership giving the run-around about repairs?

If you in fact have a warranty in place that covers the repairs that are needed then yes the dealership should be honoring the contract you have in place. I you feel that they have breached their agreement you might try taking them to small claims court, but you need to read the warranty contract carefully. In the alternative, you might have a lawyer review the contract and possibly send them a letter.

Feel free to contact my office if we can help

Good Luck!

LEGAL NOTICE: The information presented in this e-mail should not be

construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client

relationship.

Ryan P. McClure

The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure 8300 Utica Ave., Suite 157 Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search