Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Motor vehicle trade-in

I traded a leased vehicle into a car dealership for a new one. Three payments were remaining on the lease. I told the dealership that I wanted to trade-in and lease another vehicle with no out-of-pocket expense. The dealership agreed to take the lease trade-in and they would pay-off the remaing three payments. I drove off with a new lease vehicle and paid the first months lease payment. I recently received a letter from the prior leasing company requesting me to pay for damages to the lease turn in. I told them the vehicle was traded in at the dealership and the dealership assumed the remainder payments and vehicle. I told the dealership, at the time of the trade-in, that the vehicle had a small dent in the bumper. I also told them that I would lease a new vehicle as long as I did not have to pay any additional fees on the prior lease.

Asked on 3/18/08, 12:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lowell Houghton Law Offices of Hagop Chopurian
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Motor vehicle trade-in

If you did not get a transfer of liablity for any vehicle damage in writing, I doubt that you have a leg to stand on.

Read more
3/18/08, 2:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now