California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
1/22/04, 9:01 pm

Legal Question


Odometer / Sales Fraud involving a Semi-Truck Purchase

I purchased a used semi truck that was advertised as having 480,000 miles on it. I found out recently (after having a computer printout done on the truck) that it must have had 640,000 miles on it at time of purchase. Also, I was promised on (Kenworth) company letterhead that I would get a 2-year; 200,000 mile Cummins engine warranty in the mail. Well, I never received the warranty after inquiring for a year now. I would never have bought a truck with that many miles on it without a warranty included, and at a lower price. So now I have a truck that could need an engine re-build at any time ($8000 - $10,000), I'll eventually be off the road during the re-build and probably lose $3000-$4000 in revenue, I'm upside down on the truck because I paid much more for the truck than it was worth because of the fraud, so I can't sell or trade it in. Isn't this sales/odometer fraud, misrepresentation, unfair business practices? No attorneys I have contacted have an interest in this case, the DMV didn't care, and I haven't heard anything back yet from the Better Business Bureau, Attorney General, Consumer Complaint offices, etc, etc. Please at least tell me why no one seems interested in my case.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search