California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 4:23 pm

Legal Question


Can a plaintiff represent himself in a consumer class action prior and up to a motion for class certification?

I had counsel who filed and suddenly withdrew. I know that I cannot represent the class in a motion for certification or thereafter but also that a case is not technically a class action until certified.


question bubble
11/11/09, 4:33 pm

Legal Answer


You can represent yourself only. Representing the class without an attorney would be practicing law without a license.

Carl Starrett

Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II 1941-C Friendship Drive El Cajon, CA 92020-1144

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/13/09, 12:19 am

Legal Answer


An attorney cannot "suddenly withdraw." Either you, as the client.consent (in writing) to the withdrawal, or the attorney obtains a court order by way of a noticed motion.

What happened,and what is the nature of the suit?

Herb Fox

Law Office of Herb Fox 1875 Century Park East, ste. 700 Los Angeles, CA 90067

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search