California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Puppy lemon law and consumer's rights
Purchased AKC registered puppy from breeder/hobbiest. Puppy has be diagnosed with Spina Bifida, Hereditary/Congenital defect. Breeder will not comply with request of refund in exchange for puppy nor will they compromise. Recieved puppy 01/15/2005. Seller is listed as breeder and is member of AKC/Bulldog Club of America, and is listed on multiple websites as owners/breeders/exhibitors including their own. Yet they claim, now after the fact, that they are not breeders. Total costs incured so far, $2500.00 purchase price for dog, $250.00+ in vet costs. Reviewed California Health and Saftey Code Sections 122045 - 122110. Not completely sure how to apply to this situation. Breeder has 1-2 litters a year that they sell, transfer or trade. We would be interested in pursuing small claims, civil, or even arbirtration to resolve this manner.


