California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Reverse Sales requirements
I have become aware of a reversal trend that will affect every consumers right in the United States if it is allowed to continue. I recieved a card in the mail from Bottom line books saying that they would be sending me 2005 yearbook unless I fill out a card saying I don't want it. I have never signed anything with bottomline books saying that I would purchase anything from them. I forgot about the card and got the book in the mail about 3 weeks later. Now they wnt me to pay $30.00 for the book.This week a got a letter from Kaiser Medical foundation telling me about a study they are doing on Chronic Pulmonary Disease and saying someone would be calling me to ask questions. It said that if you didn't want to participate to sign and send back the enclosed card. There was no enclosed card. Its all complely voluntary they said. I am registered with the calif DONOTCALL registry with most companys seem to ignore. Can companies require you to respond if you don't want something???


