Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

I have been a seller on ebay for about 10 years. I recently learned that all this time I have been paying a final value fee to ebay on shipping charges I charge my customers. this cannot be legal. they charge 10% final value fee on the final auction price and 10% on all shipping charges. so if the item ended at 100.00 with 15.00 shipping we just paid ebay11.50 instead of just 10.00 in addition they charge 2.9% on paypal fees which again included the shipping charges so they are collecting money on both sides. they also own paypal. on that same transaction I just paid them an additional $3.29 more Ebay even places limits on how much we can charge for shipping in certain categories and does not allow us to include the 1-0% material fees or even the actual shipping cost of the item in most cases. cant be legal. then to top it off they allow buyers to rate us and based on heresay or the buyers intrepretation not fact they grade us in 4 categories one of the categories is shipping charges. seems messy to me. if you fall below their ridiculous standards which is 1% complaints in any category you are placed on a 30 day restriction they hold your money including shipping charges until 21 days affter the transaction has ended before releasing your money but you are required to ship the item in 1 business day without having the funds accessible to you. if you dont themn the buyer can freely leave negative feedback for you gives them another reason. so ebay earns interest on our money based on here say not facts and lies and when you call ebay about it you get the same answer. your buyer did not violate any of our policies so we cannot remove the feedback your next evaluation will be on the 20th of the month.I am a little guy in the sea wuith around 35,000 in sales but multiply that by 100,00 people they do this to every month and we have a major crime happening. you are not allowed to provide proof evidence or your side of the story when a buyer leaves feedback or rates you. they can say or do anything they want and ebay believes them hands down everytime. I want to start a cklass action suit against ebay and paypal. any takers? this is a good case very solid with lots of people willing to join

Asked on 8/16/13, 5:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kelvin Green The Law Office of Kelvin Green
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I bet most of this is covered in your eBay contract...

Read more
8/16/13, 9:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now