California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
4/18/10, 1:35 pm

Legal Question


I am one of the students that ECMC has sent a notice concerning the data theft affecting 3.3 million federal student loans. From what I have read, and there is so little information because of the ongoing investigation, the information was on a removable device. Is there any legal recourse or foreseeable action that can be taken relating to their inability to keep the information trusted to them by my school safe? I did not choose them and have never heard of them until now. I can’t believe that sensitive information would be kept on a portable drive but if this is true then I’d think they should be held accountable.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search