California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
3/25/04, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


Utility company charging for previous owner contract

After owning my rental property for 15 years I just found out that the city utility company has been charging me for a shared trash contract negotiated by the previous owner of my property and the property next door. Unbeknownst to me, I have been paying for half a trash bin located on my neighbors property. Although I have questioned my bills for years, I have always been told that I have standard service. Now, the city is admitting I have been paying for this service when i could have been paying much less. They never offered me a choice upon my purchase of the property. I feel I am due a substantial refund. Their position is that they have provided uninterrupted service as requested. Since I never requested ''this'' service I feel they are wrong.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search