California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
wedding dress ruined
My wedding photographer convinced me to go in the ocean with my wedding dress on and told me she would have it cleaned and send to me wich she did. I however opend the packed box to find ny $5000 wedding dress damaged with yellow and stained. I have no contact w cleaners as she had cleaned. I am in NY. She is in CA. I am shocked to see my dress in such bad shape and do not know next step. Thanks
Legal Answer
Re: wedding dress ruined
I am very familiar with the wedding industry and typically a wedding photographer will ask a bride to go into the ocean with the understanding that the dress will be destroyed but the resulting pictures will be great. In the industry this is called "trashing the dress". The status of your dress depends on the agreement that you entered into with the photographer. If the photographer was experienced, i doubt that they agreed to restore the dress to the original condition before you entered the ocean because most reasonable people, and professional photographers would know that salt water destroys dresses. You can always file a claim in CA small claims against the photographer or hire an Attorney to write you a letter if you feel that the agreement you had with the photographer was to restore the dress or replace the dress to its original condition.
LEGAL NOTICE: The information presented in this e-mail should not be
construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client
relationship.
The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure 8300 Utica Ave., Suite 157 Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
► Other answers from this attorney

