California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
how do I know when my answer is due in a collection litigation?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
Look at the summons it should say on it.. Typically when you are served you have 30 days to respond if it is not an eviction case, nor a small claims action. Eviction cases move much faster. If you don't know what date you were served because it was a substituted service call the lawyer on the complaint and ask for a copy of the proof of service. If they refuse you may be able to get a copy at the court because they will have to file it. By the way if they refuse write them a letter to that effect and save a copy in case you might have to contest the date of service later on. Hope this helps ,and good luck to you.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Law Offices of Jonathan G. Stein
Elk Grove, CA
Questions Answered: 892
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


