California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/25/07, 11:19 pm

Legal Question


bank account

I recently received a letter from a ''law office'' regarding an account my ex-boyfriend was overdraft on. We broke up and I gave him back the bank card and was unable to access the account..this was last January. How can I prove that I was not an active part of this account? This is my first time hearing about this! Any directives would be greatly appreciated.


question bubble
11/26/07, 12:54 am

Legal Answer


Re: bank account

You either need to contact the lawyer that sent you the letter or hire an attorney to do it with the evidence that shows that you had no access to the account. If you just returned the card to the boyfriend and didn’t have your name removed then you might have a problem because in theory even though you returned the card you still had access to the account. Hey, you never know maybe your ex-boyfriend will cope to the collections.

LEGAL NOTICE: The information presented in this e-mail should not be

construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client

relationship.

Ryan P. McClure

The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure 8300 Utica Ave., Suite 157 Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search