California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/20/07, 7:16 pm

Legal Question


How Many Calls Constitute Harassment?

I receive between 7-12 calls per day (1-2 calls per hour) from my equity line lender. The calls start the day after my bill is due and do not stop even after I speak with several reps to explain my pymt has be scheduled on-line (as it always is). I've even called THEM to let them know when it's scheduled and still the calls continue. I've asked, begged & pleaded for them to stop. I've explained they are calling my cell phone and it is costing me money for each call. I've written a letter asking them to stop the harassment. I've kept log of all call dates/times and also conversations.

They are the original creditor - do they have to stop? Is it legal for them to call this many times per day on a cell phone? How many calls per day constitute harassment? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search