California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/17/07, 1:49 pm

Legal Question


Closed Credit Card Account Still Reporting

I closed a credit card account with Continental Finance in January of 2007. I actually overpaid the final payment, and they owe me $42. It is 10 months later and I am still getting late notices in the mail and by phone. I have spoken to numerous representatives who, after reviewing my account, say ''oh, yeah, it is closed - we'll get that check to you w/in 4 weeks.'' Well, it has been 10 months, I got another late notice today stating my account may be shown as a charge-off soon, that it's being negatively reflected on my credit report, and so I called them again. After explaining the entire situation again, they said ''they'd take care of it.'' I continued to ask why, if I do not even have an account with them I'm getting monthly statements and late notices, and they couldn't answer - they just said they'd ''take care of it.'' SO, for 10 months they have owed me $42, and all that while they have been reporting me late to the Credit Bureaus (and I do not have an account with them anymore); do I have any legal recourse? I can get nowhere with these people, they are rude, non-accomodating, and all I have asked is that they take me out of their system - no resolution whatsoever. Help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search