California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Collection Agency
I worked for a company and resigned appx 3years ago. It was a sole Propriortorship of which I had nothing to do with. Approx 6 mos ago the owner clolsed the business and obviously did not pay a bill for the bottled water. I, like everyone else would sign for deliveries, etc but I was not the owner and I don't see how I could be responsible especially since the owner continued to operate for 2 years after I resigned. I am 72 yrs old living on social security and they have reported me to all three credit bureaus. This does not seem right. I called the water company to explain and they were rude to me and said I signed. Please help.


