California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/13/07, 7:34 pm

Legal Question


Collection Companies

My daughter is in the military. Before she went in she bounced a check for $42.00. I was collecting her mail while she was in boot camp and when she came home on leave there was a letter from a collection agency asking her to send in $69.79 for the bounced check. She did that, then received a bill for $2.79. She did not receive that until she came home from leave again (apparently they gave her 30 days to pay the $69.79 which was paid about 10 days late). She sent in the $2.79 when she got the letter. I just received the $2.79 check back and they are claiming she now owes $100.00 because they did not receive their $2.79 on time. They are threatening to go to her Command and threatening to take her to court etc. He also claims he can ruin her credit because of this and he can run a credit report without her permission. What should I do--pay it for her (she is out of contact with me) or just ignore it since she has already paid the check and the bounced check fees? Can they really go to her Command and cause her trouble for $2.79?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search