Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Hello, I was just contacted by a collection agency regarding a collection that stemed from a US bank dispute I had back in 2009. What kind of legal action can this collection attorney take? Is there a statue of limitations on this debt or can they sue me for this in court? The origional amoutn for for roughly $400 and now they want around $600

Asked on 8/15/13, 11:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

In my experience it is highly unlikely they will take legal action for six hundred dollars. Hard to tell you what the statute is without more information.

Read more
Answered on 8/15/13, 10:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now