California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/06/07, 5:41 pm

Legal Question


Co-signer on a loan for a relative

My husband co-signed on a loan for our daughter. The original amount of $12,000.00, but then she asked us to co sign for another $9,000 because she needed it for her upcoming wedding and promised to pay that $9,000 back in one lump sum when her husband to be got his advance on his structured settlement. I am an email to that verifies this, however, it is from my daughter and not her then fiance. He denies knowing anything about this. She is currently making the payment, however my question is - can I do anything now to remove my name or what can I do if she defaults on the loan?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search