California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Credit Card Debt
I received a call at work from a lawyer representing Chase Bank. He informed me that he had spoken to the corporate offices of the company I work for and that he has a court order to garnish my wages. He said that if I pay $5,000 during the month of October Chase will accept it and conside the matter with me closed. If I don't, then they'll garnish my wages for a total of over $8,000 which includes interest and lawyer fees. What legal recourse do I have? The last payment I made to Chase was in 2004.


