Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

My Credit Report: Should I use an attorney or handle myself?

I have found old paperwork showing and confirming dates that several of my credit cards were charged off and several judgments that were filed. Per the FCRA, I understand that these negative items should only be allowed to stay on my credit report 180 days after the start of the delinquency, plus 7 yrs (FRCA 605(c)). These negative items are still on my credit and affecting my fico score.

My question is simply...is it best to contact an attorney and have them contact the bureaus on my behalf or best to represent myself? I have heard conflicting answers and heard that quicker action and actual deletion is more likely to happen if I have an attorney defending my rights under the FCRA

Asked on 3/16/09, 2:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Stone Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: My Credit Report: Should I use an attorney or handle myself?

creditboards.com

Read more
3/16/09, 2:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now