California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/10/07, 1:19 am

Legal Question


Debt Collection Options

Hello,

I run a small business buying and selling used items.

I sold 40 of these items at $450 each to a person in California. They were quite big, so I delivered them in a trailer to California from Texas.

The buyer paid for about half, but there is a balance of $6500, which he was supposed to pay within a deadline.

He is now very late in paying the balance, and I'm afraid that he isn't going to pay.

I have emails that discuss our understanding, and the invoices that I sent.

Unfortuanetly, I don't have an official contract.

What are my options? I would gladly take $6500 worth of my items back, but it's possible he's already sold them, etc.

It's a small business, and though that amount won't bankrupt me, I do have a wife and 4 kids to support, and $6500 is way too much to ignore.

Thank you for your help,

Larry


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search