California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/03/02, 1:26 pm

Legal Question


Debt responsibility for vehicle not in possession of after divorce

My ex took possession and has made all the payments for almost a year now of a motorhome we both purchased while we were married. He resides in the motorhome, out of the U.S., and I need to get my name off of the loan papers. I did contact the loan company last year, before he took it out of the country, and they said it would have to be re-financed in order to remove my name. I have no way to have it re-financed. What can I do to protect myself and to show I have no control over it and no responsibility? Thanks you for your help!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search