California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/25/08, 4:48 pm

Legal Question


Definition of promotional period ''Within 365 days''

I accepted a promotional financing offer from Fry's Electronics. The offer was described with the following text:

Big print: ''1-YEAR NO INTEREST*''

Small print: ''...Interest will be charged to your Account from the date of purchase if Promotional Plan balance is not paid in full within 365 days...''

I purchased the items on 1/9/07 and paid the balance in full, 365 days later, on 1/9/08.

The financing bank claims that the promotional period expired on 1/8/08 and that 1/9/08 does not fall ''within'' 365 days. This interpretation will cost me nearly $500!

Is the bank correct in law?

Do I have any reasonable grounds to dispute the finance charge?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search