California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/26/08, 11:31 am

Legal Question


electing to file llc tax as a 'C' CORP. Is this safer for asset protection?

I have been advised by my cpa to file taxes for a single owner LLC as a C CORP. Then, I would elect as a subchapter S, to pass through the losses. This is a real estate holding vehicle. Would this way of filing taxes improve my asset protection strategy ? The idea, is that the asset of the llc is separated from the personal assets. Please advise any thoughts on this concept. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search