California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Ethical collection practice by PayPal?
When I tried to withdraw money out of my Paypal account last week, it triggered an alarm causing them to investigate into my account. They made me provide information about myself which I did, only to have them come back to me and freeze my account because supposidely a previous account of mine received a chargeback from a sale completed in June 2005. I closed my old account on 10/6/2005 thinking I was done with online selling only to reopen another one in Nov because of a new business venture. They claim that my customer filed a chargeback in Dec 2005 and was paid back Jan 5,2006. I have yet to see any documentation regarding this so, am I to just accept what they say, and pay back the $779 so I can access my current funds of $1000+? Also the reason they know these 2 PayPal accounts are linked is because it's the same checking account number.


