California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/03/02, 5:37 pm

Legal Question


Trying to help family causing me debt over my head

I foolishly tried to help family members who had credit problems. Now I'm the one facing all the bills and my credit is in shambles. I've tried to work out a payment plan with some of them but they keep adding late charges each month so my payments are not reducing the debt by much. Should I just stop paying these bills and let them do whatever they want? I don't own any property and my only income is Social Security. If they get a judgment can they take money from my checking account which only has direct deposit from SS? Thank you for any advice.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search