California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/28/10, 6:05 pm

Legal Question


How do I find out if I have liens, judgements or any monetary blocks on my passport. I know I have a child support and i am trying to resolve that. Thank you.


question bubble
9/02/10, 6:58 pm

Legal Answer


If you have a passport, you should be OK to travel anywhere. While the State Dept. has the legal authority to revoke existing passports if you owe more than $5,000 in child support, I'm not aware that they exercise that authority. They will not -issue- you a passport If you owe more than $5,000 in child support. I'm not aware that any other types of liens or judgments would affect your passport in any way.

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search