California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/27/08, 10:54 am

Legal Question


Harrassing Phone calls - Please help!

I have a collection account that was opened in 12/02. No pymts made. The Collection company contacted me regarding. I didn't remember bill & asked for copy of contract. Legally, it was mine. After doing research (scared of lawsuit) I realized they can no longer collect. When they called back, I asked them to please not call me again. 2 weeks later I get an ''invoice'' for payment/settlement. Just this weekend they called me again. I was upset & informed them that legally they are not allowed to contact me any more & please dont call again. The man started yelling at me asking why I don't pay my bills! I was Furious and told him that any further contact is against the law & I would be reporting him. He litterally said good and I will report this as a refusal to pay. What do I do now??? I've been trying to clean up my credit & this is the only outstanding bill left, should I pay to protect my credit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search